Paper Bag scrapbooks

Hi again.  I know, I know… it’s been waaay too long since my last blog post.  January wasn’t a good month for us (I was hospitalized for 2 days [I’m fine now] and we had two deaths) so it has taken me awhile to get back to normal.

About three weeks before Valentine’s Day, I saw on Pinterest this idea of a paper bag scrapbook so I thought it would be fun to make them for my younger grandkids for Valentine’s Day.  Once I got started, I wondered “what were you thinking girl?” but I got them done.  All you have to do is Google paper bag scrapbooks and you will find a ton of ideas in different sizes, styles, orientation, etc., of paper bag scrapbooks. The first one I saw was very basic. After I got started and looked some more for ideas for pages, I saw how involved and detailed you can make them.  There are different ways to place the paper bags so that you can  make pockets or flip up pages, pages that flip out to the side, etc.  You can also use the opening of the paper bag as a pocket for treats, cards, pictures, or additional scrapbook pages.  There are also many ways to put them together from stapling the sides to punching holes and decorating with ribbon and/or yarn to binding them like a book with chipboard, etc.  So you can go real simple or over the top and anywhere in between.

Since I only had a few weeks to do these four scrapbooks, I went very simple in my design.  They were titled “10 things I LOVE about YOU”.  So here are two of the finished books.

DSC_0909        DSC_0910     DSC_0921

 

Basic supplies you will need: 

  • Paper lunch bags in the size of your choice.  (When I got mine, I didn’t realize they were extra large lunch bags but it worked out well because my books ended up being almost the same size as a 6 x 6 album)
  • Patterned papers and coordinating cardstock
  • Adhesive.  You want to use a strong adhesive so that your papers and cardstock will adhere to the paper bag pages and not come loose. I’ve seen glue guns used and other strong liquid glues.  I used my 1 1/2″ and 1/2″  Scrappy Tape.  With the Scrappy Tape I had to be really careful because the second the tape touched the page, it was stuck!  If you want to be able to adjust the page after you put it down, you might want to consider a strong, fast drying liquid glue that gives you a little wiggle room to adjust your page after you put it down.
  • Embellishments (ribbons, brads, buttons, etc)
  • Photos that you plan to use in the scrapbook.

Additional items I used

  • Cricut – I used my Cricut a lot for my page titles (see below for more pictures) and some of my pages didn’t have pictures.
  • Stapler to bind my books.  I stapled the bags together first and then put paper over top to cover the staples.
  • Ribbon to tie around the books to keep them closed
  • Stamps, dies, inks, and markers

Here is a link to my Pinterest board for paper bag scrapbooks.  You will see there are lots of ideas and different ways to put the bags together to form the scrapbook and depending on the size of your bags, will determine how big they are.   https://www.pinterest.com/angelbear914/scrapbooks-paper-bag-books/

Here are some more pictures of some of the pages in the scrapbooks I made.

DSC_0911

Hugs and Kisses cut out on the Cricut. Added a heart brad on the page before adhering it to the paper bag.

our grandson loves dinosaurs

our grandson loves dinosaurs

DSC_0914

This is an example of using the opening of the bag as a pocket for a card or extra scrapbook page.

The "Sweet" was cut out on the Cricut. I used the opening of the bag to put some candy for them.

The “Sweet” was cut out on the Cricut. I used the opening of the bag to put a little bag of candy .

Our granddaughter.  "Hugs and Kisses" and "Laugh" cut out on the Cricut

Our granddaughter. “Hugs and Kisses” and “Laugh” cut out on the Cricut

"Your Smile" was generated on the computer in Microsoft Word.  Used a Smiley face stamp to make background paper

“Your Smile” was generated on the computer in Microsoft Word. Used a Smiley face stamp to make background paper

The word "Sweet" cut out on the Cricut.  I used Stampin' Up marker to "doodle" the edges.

The word “Sweet” cut out on the Cricut. I used Stampin’ Up marker to “doodle” around the edges of the letters.

All the backs of the books were finished this way with a Happy Valentine's Day stamp.

All the backs of the books were finished this way with a Happy Valentine’s Day stamp.

This was fun to do. Who knows, I may make some more some day but next time, I will give myself more time so I am not so rushed and will be able to embellish them more.  I made four scrapbooks in about 12 days or so (12 pages each including the front and back covers), but I am happy with the results from my first time making a paper bag scrapbook.  Please leave a comment and feel free to ask any questions you may have.

Well, until next time, Happy Stampin’ and Scrappin’

Kathy

 

Leave a Reply

