Hanukkah card, Paper Players Challenge #224

Hello everyone,

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving holiday with friends and family.  We are definitely in the throws of the holiday season with Hanukkah, Christmas, and New Year’s just ahead. We have some Jewish friends and each year I get down to the wire and don’t have a card for them and have to scrounge around and make something quick and spur of the moment.  This year, I’ve planned ahead and made a card specifically for Hanukkah for them.  I scoured the Internet (Pinterest) for ideas and there aren’t a whole lot out there that really caught my eye so  I took elements from various cards that  I found and came up with my own design. I think they will like it.  I also searched the Internet for verses for inside the card as I did not have any stamps with appropriate verses. Hanukkah is basically about peace and light so I used some glitter paper and my Cricut machine and came up with this card. I am also using this card for the Paper Players Tic Tac Toe challenge.

pp224 120114

In this challenge you pick three items either up and down, across, or diagonally (tic tac toe fashion) and make your card using those elements.  I chose Star, Die Cut, Glitter.  Here is my card (Click on the picture for a larger view):

DSC_0581

Supplies you will need: 

  • Cardstock:  Whisper White, Midnight Muse, Marina Mist
  • Glitter Paper
  • Stamps:   Delightful dozen, flourish stamp
  • Inks:  VersaMark, Midnight Muse (both ink pad and marker)
  • Embossing buddy
  • Clear embossing powder
  • Heat tool
  • Musical note embossing folder (Sizzix)
  • Cuttlebug or similar machine
  • Cricut machine to cut out Star
  • Joys of the Season Cricut Cartridge
  • Ribbon, white
  • Adhesives:  Scrappy Tape (1/8″ and 1/2″), dimensionals, glue dots

Assembling the card: 

  1. First create a card that measures 5 1/2″ x  4 1/4″ out of the Midnight Muse cardstock.  Cut a piece of Whisper White cardstock that measure 5 1/4″ x 4″.
  2. Next cut out the Star of David on the Cricut machine on the Marina Mist paper.  I cut it at 3 1/2″ (this is the outline of the star). Then on the glitter paper cut the Blackout of the Star of David also at 3 1/2″. Set aside.
  3. Next use the embossing buddy on the outline of the star.  Stamp the flourish randomly over the star in VersaMark ink.
  4. Sprinkle clear embossing powder over the star, tap off excess, and heat emboss.
  5. Using the 1/8″ Scrappy Tape generously apply to the back of the blue star. The inside honeycomb shape was taped at the same time so that it was snug, plus it made it a little easier to apply the tape (for that part I used 1/2″ Scrappy Tape) I wanted to use the Scrappy Tape so I would get a good hold on the glitter paper.
  6. Using the Midnight Muse marker, I wrote out “Shalom” on the center of the star.  Attach the blue star to the glitter paper.  Set aside.
  7. Using the musical note  embossing folder, emboss one of the pieces of white cardstock, about 2/3 of the way across.  I left part of it not embossed for stamping the sentiment.
  8. Next attach the ribbon as shown.
  9. Stamp “Happy Hanukkah”  (from the Delightful Dozen stamp set).  Attach to card front.
  10. Then attach star  using dimensionals.
  11. For the inside of the card I found a sentiment I liked and typed it in MS Word and printed out on Whisper White cardstock in a blue ink that matched pretty closely to Midnight Muse then cut it down to 5 1/4″ x 4″ for the inside of the card.  The sentiment I used was:  “As you celebrate the Festival of Lights, may your home be bright with happiness and love.  Best wishes at Hanukkah and Happy New Year!”  Attach to the inside of the card.

That’s it!  This card is a little more involved than a lot of my cards but it’s a special card for a special couple. I am really excited about the card and am pleased with how it turned out.

Until next time, Happy Stamping!

Kathy

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hanukkah card, Paper Players Challenge #224

Leave a Reply

