More wine bottle art

Aloha!  Yes we went to Hawaii!! We’ve been back for 10 days now and I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to do much crafting. We went to Hawaii for our niece’s wedding (and a beautiful wedding it was on a sunset cruise along the coast of the Hawaii, the Big Island).  For their wedding gift, I decorated four wine bottles to spell l-o-v-e.

Here they are:

Wine bottle art - l-o-v-e

Supplies you will need:  

  • Jute (I used black jute for this project)
  • Embellishments (flowers, buttons, ribbon, twine, keys, lace, brads, etc.)
  • Adhesive:  Tombow glue

Instructions:

  1. First, clean out your wine bottles with soapy water and let dry. For some wine bottles, it seemed I had to do this more than once.   Since I was covering the entire bottle, I did not remove the labels. I did, however, remove the metal band at the top of the bottles I used.  If you do not plan on covering the entire bottle in Jute, you would need to remove the labels.
  2. Using the Tombow Glue and Jute wrap each bottle.  To get started, I place some Tombow glue around the bottom edge of the wine bottle and wrap jute around a time or two.  I let this sit for a few minutes so that the glue begins to dry and holds the jute in place.  (I have seen some instructions where they start at the top of the bottle, which is perfectly fine, too, For me, I think it is easier to start at the bottom and work my way up.  Try both ways and see what works best for you.)
  3. Next I continue to add glue and wrap with jute.  I will wrap 3-5 rows of jute and then press it down upon itself so that the bottle does not show through.  Add more glue, wrap, and press down upon itself.  I continue this all the way to the top of the bottle.  It does get a little tricky around the neck of the bottle and there I may only wrap 2-4 strands and press it down upon itself.
  4. When the whole bottle is wrapped, I usually will let it sit over night before decorating.
  5. Decorate as desired.  For this project the Tombow Glue worked well for the embellishments, too.  The bottles made it safely to Hawaii even though I was forced to check my carry on bag which had the bottles in it.  Whew!

Wine bottle decorating has become quite popular as of late and you can find all kinds of ideas on Pinterest  (here is my board with some ideas:  http://www.pinterest.com/angelbear914/wine-bottle-crafts/).  My sister, Joanne Rill, is the one who got me started decorating wine bottles (here is the link to her Pinterest board http://www.pinterest.com/joannerill/wine-bottles/).  I find it fun and relaxing.  I hope you will give it a try.

We have the Fourth of July coming up and I’m working on a card idea for that and also, it will soon be Christmas in July!!

I’ll talk to you soon!  Until then, happy crafting!

Kathy

Leave a Reply

