Card in a Box

I am posting this again because I am not sure it went out.  If you do get it a second time, please accept my apologies.  

Hi, I hope you all are having a great day!  I don’t know if you have noticed or not but the latest craze in card making is the Card in a Box cards.  They lie flat to be mailed but open up into a box after removing from the envelope!   I have made several of these now and so I thought I would share with you the ones I’ve made.  The first one I made was for my grandson who is potty training and reached a major milestone (if ya know what I mean!) so I made this one for him:

You Did It!

You Did It!

The next one I made was a spring themed one

Celebrate Spring!

Celebrate Spring!

2014-02-21 12.23.09

And the last one  I made with my grandson in mind again because he LOVES dinosaurs and I found these great dinosaur stamps from Lawn Fawn that had matching framelits to cut them out with.

You are dino-mite!

You’re dino-mite!

2014-03-10 11.46.45

The first two card in a box cards  are A2 size (4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ and the third one is C6 size (4″ x 6″) Below are the measurements and a link to a video that shows how to assemble these cards.  It’s really not as hard as it may look.  It does take some time though but the end results are worth the time.

Measurements for A2 card in a box:

  • Start with a piece of cardstock 5 1/2″ x 9″
  • On the 9″ side score at 2 1/8″, 4 1/4″, 6 3/8″ and 8 1/2″
  • Turn the cardstock a half turn (so you have the 5 1/2″ side at the top of your scoring board) and score at 2 3/4″
  • For the dividers cut a piece of cardstock 3 1/8″ x 3 1/8″.  Score at 1/2″ and 2 5/8″.   Cut in half intersecting the score lines you just made.
  • For the layers:  Back panel 5  1/4″ x 1  7/8″.  All other flaps and bottom of the box 2 1/2″ x 1 7/8″

Here is a link to a video by France Martin and where I learned how to make these card in a box cards:   http://www.frenchiestamps.com/2014/01/card-in-box-video.html

Scroll to the bottom of the page to find the video.

Measurements for C6 envelope (4″ x 6″)

  • Start with a piece of cardstock 8 1/4″ x 9″
  • On the 9″ side score at 2 1/8″, 4 1/4″, 6 3/8″, and 8 1/2″
  • Turn one-half turn and score at 2 3/4″
  • Put the 2 3/4″ side to the left side of your cutter and cut at 6″
  • From the strip that is made cut 3 1/8″ then turn and cut in half.

Assembling C6 card

  • Turn the card so that the 2 3/4″ panels are on the bottom and cut on the four score lines creating a tab at the end of the box.
  • Cut off small tab
  • Fold along score lines then fold down the top 3 panels
  • Put double sided tape on the tab and join the box together.
  • Put the Z-panels inside the box.

Measurements for each panel to decorate:

  • Back panel:  writing panel 5 3/4″ x 1 7/8″ mat with 5 7/8″ x 2″
  • Bottom panels:  DSP 1 7/8″ x 3″ Cardstock:  2″ x 3 1/8″ (make 3 of these)
  • Top panels:  DSP 1 7/8″  x 2 1/2″  Cardstock 2″ x 2 5/8″ (make 4 of these).

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you will give these a try.  They really are fun to make.  Here is a link to my Pinterest board for Card in a Box cards. As you can see, the possibilities are endless.    http://www.pinterest.com/angelbear914/cards-card-in-a-box/

Happy Stamping!

Kathy

Leave a Reply

