More Valentine’s cards

Hello all!  I hope you are staying warm wherever you are.  Today I am sharing some more Valentine’s Day cards that I made.

Be My Valentine circle card framelit

Inside.

Inside.

We made this card at a recent Stampin’ Up Workshop.  The cardstock is Whisper White, Basic Black, and Real Red. Stamp sets used:  Delightful Dozen, Language of Love, and Tags 4 You. Ink is Real Red.  We also used the Chevron punch for the front of the card. 

Cut a piece of black paper 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ (this will give you the extra flap on the right side of the card.  Watch this video on how to cut paper this way:  http://www.youtube.com/watch/?v=nwedAASXzok.   She explains it so well.)  Decorate at shown.

Masculine Valentine Card

Masculine Valentine Card

For this card, I took my inspiration from France Martin (Frenchie).  She used the Hardwood Stamp which is in the new occasions catalog from Stampin’ Up.  Since I don’t have that stamp yet, I used the wood grained DSP from the Well Worn paper  pack.  For the heart I used the Heart punch and punched it from the bottom left corner of the card front  I then took a scrap of the Woodgrain paper  and placed it behind the punched out heart and sponged with the sponge dauber.  I then attached this to the back of the front panel using dimensionals to give it a 3-D affect.  The sentiment is stamped with Versa Mark and heat embossed using white embossing powder.  I used the Envelope Liners Framelits dies to make a liner for my envelope.  

Bee Mine

These cards use the Way to Be stamp set (retired) and embossed paper doilies.  I will have more on this technique in my next blog post.  Cardstock is Basic Black, Basic Gray, Whisper White, Real Red, and Melon Mambo.  The heart shaped doily I got at Michael’s.

I hope you have been inspired with these cards to create some of your own.  All the cards today are the standard A2 card (5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″)  Thanks for stopping by. Have a great day.

Kathy

2 thoughts on “More Valentine’s cards

  1. I love the masculine Valentine’s Day Card! It is very hard to find ideas for male cards, and this one I just love! What you did to the heart to make it stand out it very nice and with the dark paper, it gives it a big “pop” off the page!

    • Thank you! I know what you mean about male cards. It is so much more fun to do the frilly, girly cards so coming up with ideas for masculine cards is always a challenge. I’ve gotten many of my masculine card ideas from France Martin and she has Masculine Monday on her blog every week. You can click on the “I love stamping with Frenchie” icon to the left and that should take you to her blog.

Leave a Reply

