Happy Birthday Wishes

Hello again everyone.  Here is a birthday card I CASEd from Narelle Farrugia, a Stampin’ Up demonstrator from Melbourne AUS.  Here is her card first and then my card.

Narelle Farrugia's card

Narelle Farrugia’s card

My card

My card

Supplies you will need: 

  • Cardstock:  for this card I used Early Espresso, Very Vanilla, Water color paper
  • Ink:  Early Espresso, Timber Brown Stay-Zon ink, More Mustard
  • DSP is Spice Cake
  • Stamp sets:  Simply Sketched, Water color trio (You can also use the birthday sentiment from the Perfect Pairs stamp set which is what I think Narelle used)
  • Making Memories Circle cutter.  (See image under Preparing the elements of the card to see what product I am using here).
  • Distress tool
  • 5/8″ ribbon (Early Espresso for my card)
  • Water color brush
  • Adhesive, glue dots, dimensionals
  • Brads or candy dots

Preparing the elements of the card: 

Card and card layers:

  • Card base:  6.5″ x 10″ folded in half to form a 6.5″ x 5″ side fold card
  • DSP layer 4.5″ x 6″
  • Next layer is 4 5/8″ x 6 1/8″ (**or you could use your Perfect Layers tool and create a 1/16″ border)
  • Next layer is 4.75″ x 6.25″ (again, you can use your Perfect Layers tool and create a 1/16″ border )

** If you use the Perfect Layers tool, roughen your edges  of each layer before you adhere them together.

Circles: Making Memories Circl Cutter image

  • Large circles:    I used the Making Memories Circles and blades to make these.  I used the largest Circle and cut one using the green blade in Early Espresso and the blue blade for the DSP.  These circles measure app 3 1/8″ and 3″
  • Medium Circles:   Use the medium circle from Making Memories Circles I cut the larger one with the green blade in Early Espresso and the blue blade for the Very Vanilla. These measure app 2 1/8″ and 2″
  • Small Circles:  I actually used my circle punches for these two using the 1 1/2″ circle punch for the  Early Espresso. I stamped my sentiment on Very Vanilla and then punched out with the 1 3/8″ punch.
  • Using the distress tool roughen the edges of the smaller circles in each of these pairs of circles then adhere them to the larger circle in the pair.  Set aside.

Flower and leaves:

  • Stamp the flower and two of the leaves stamps from Simply Sketched onto water color paper using Timber Brown Sta-Zon ink.
  • Water color using More Mustard ink and your water color brush.
  • Cut them out and set aside.  I used scissors and an X-acto  knife for cutting the more intricate parts of the leaves/berries.

Assembling the card:

  1. Rough up the edges of your layers (if you haven’t done so already) and layer them together.
  2. Adhere largest circle to the card as shown.
  3. Tie ribbon around the layers and tie a bow as shown. Attach brads (or candy dots) in the upper left corner of the card as shown (see Narelle’s card as I forgot to do this. I will add Candy Dots later). At this point you can adhere this all to the card base.
  4. Next attach medium circles as shown.
  5. Adhere flower and leaves to the card as shown. I used adhesive (snail, etc.) on the part of the leaves that would be on the medium circle. Cut the leaves on the left to get them to fit.  The flower is attached with dimensionals.
  6. Adhere the smallest circle using adhesive on the side that attaches to the medium circle and dimensionals ( you may need to use two on top of each other) on the left side of the circle.
  7. Decorate the inside of the card as you wish.

This card did take awhile to make, but the end result is just stunning!  I hope that you can follow these directions as there is a lot of prep work.  Please feel free to send me a message if you have any questions.

Kathy

Leave a Reply

