Dynamic Duos #87

Hello everyone!   I’m back!  I know it has been quite awhile since I blogged and I’m sorry I was away so long.  The holidays got the best of me and we were quite busy.  Now with our “winter weather” we are having here in Texas, I have some time to do a little blogging and I hope to start blogging more consistently again. So to start things off, I decided to play with the Dynamic Duos challenge this week.  The challenge is a black tie  with the colors black and Melon Mambo with a dessert option of umbrellas.  So here is my submission for the challenge.

Dynamic Duos Redo 2013-006       2014-01-27 19.45.26

This is a simple but cute card and I had lots of fun making it.

Supplies you will need:  

  • Cardstock:  Melon Mambo, Basic Black, water color paper, Whisper White for the inside of the card.
  • Ink:  Black Sta-zon, Melon Mambo for water coloring.
  • Water color brushes
  • Sizzix scalloped oval framelits.
  • Candy Dots from Stampin’ Up, Brights collection
  • Polka dot emobossing folder
  • Dimensionals
  • Ticket punch
  • The stamp set I used is a Unity Stamp itty bitty  called Rain or Shine (2 stamps) that I bought at Archiver’s years ago.  (Because it has the umbrella on it, I just had to use it for this project).

Making the card:

  1. I first stamped my image and the sentiment on water color paper.
  2. Using Melon Mambo ink and water color brush, I colored the umbrella.
  3. Next I cut out the image with the Sizzix Scalloped oval framelit (the largest one in the pack)
  4. Using Melon Mambo cardstock form a 4.25″ x 5.5″ card.
  5. Cut a piece of black cardstock 4″ x 5.25″ and run through the polka dot embossing folder.  Adhere to front of card.
  6. Adhere scalloped oval image to front of card using dimensionals.
  7. Place a melon mambo candy dot in each corner.
  8. For the inside of the card I cut a piece of Whisper White cardstock to 4″ x 5.25″ and used the ticket punch on each of the corners.

This card is actually my own design, unusual for me because I always CASE my cards!  I’m happy with the way it turned out and hope you will at least give the design a try with one of your favorite stamps

Kathy

One thought on “Dynamic Duos #87

Leave a Reply

