Paper Players #169

Hello everyone!  I hope you have had a great week.  We are seeing some sunshine after two days of rain.   This week I decided to try out the Paper Players Challenge sketch.  Below is the sketch  and my card.

PP169     Thanksgiving Card

What you need: 

  • CS (cardstock):  Early Espresso, Crumb Cake
  • DSP (Designer Series Paper):  Your choice.
  • Ink:   Early Espresso
  • Stamps:  Lovely as a Tree, Teeny Tiny Wishes
  • Stampin’ Write Markers:  Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, Old Olive, and Daffodil Delight
  • Itty Bitty Banners Framelits (middle sized banner)
  • Embellishments:  Button, linen thread, “brads”**
  • Adhesive:  Tape runner, glue dots
  • Crystal Effects
  • Other tools:  Crop-o-Dile, Xyron X sticker maker

Assembling the card:

  1. Cut Early Espresso CS to form a 5 1/2  x  4 1/4 inch card.
  2. Stamp image from Lovely as a Tree on Crumb Cake CS and trim to 4 1/8″  x 2 1/2″.  Adhere to card front.  I added some fall color to the trees by putting dots of color on them to resemble fall colored leaves using the Stampin’ Write markers. I also added dots of color to the ground for fallen leaves.
  3. To make the banners, I used scraps of DSP and cut three banners with the itty bitty framelits and then cut off one of the sides.  I used the negative space from one of the cuts to go around my Happy Thanksgiving sentiment.
  4. Adhere the banners as shown.  Then adhere the DSP strip over them as shown.
  5. ** I didn’t have brads that matched, so I made my own brads by punching out the larger of the two hole punches from the Crop-o-dile (Thanks Lisa McGrew for this great idea!).
  6. I ran these three little dots through my Xyron X sticker maker and adhered them to the card as shown.  I then added Crystal Effects to each one to give them the appearance of brads (again, thanks to Lisa McGrew for this idea!)
  7. Stamp Happy Thanksgiving on Crumb Cake CS and adhere the negative space from cutting out the framelits to this. Trim and adhere to card.
  8. Thread linen thread through button, tie a bow, adhere to card with glue dot.

I had fun with this challenge and hope you will give it a try.  Card sketches are a great way to get your creative juices flowing if you are in a funk and need a jump start.

Have a great day and Happy Stamping!

Kathy

2 thoughts on “Paper Players #169

  1. What pretty fall card. I like the way you incorporated the DSP colors into the falling leaves on your trees. Simple and elegant…perfect for the fall holiday. Thank you for joining us at The Paper Players!

  2. Oh, Lovely as a Tree, one of my favorite and one of the most classic stamp sets ever! I love the fun mix of colorful patterned papers you used, Kathy. Thanks for sharing your work with us at The Paper Players this week!

Leave a Reply

