Birthday Wishes

Hello,

I know….. it’s been a long time.  Late July and August have been very busy and I just didn’t have a lot of time to post but I’m back and hope to be posting a little more regularly.  We’ll see how that goes!   One of the things I did was go on a 4-day scrapbooking retreat and I made 24 cards during that time.  So I have lots to share over the next few months.

To start things off, I want to wish a Happy 6th Birthday today to my grandson, Landon.  He is such a great kid and has the best sense of humor.  He keeps us all laughing with his antics.

Landon holding up 6 fingers

Now onto my card.  I CASEd (copied and shared with everyone) this card from JoAnn at http://www.craftynanasblog.blogspot.com.  Isn’t it beautiful?  I just love the Field Flowers stamp set.

JoAnn's card

JoAnn’s card

My rendition of her card

My rendition of her card

Items you will need:

  • Card stock (CS):  Tangerine Tango, Whisper White
  • Stamps:   Occasional Quotes, Field Flowers (see more info on this stamp set at end of post)
  • Inks:    Tangerine Tango, Poppy Parade, Pear Pizzazz
  • Embossing folder (EF):   Finial Press
  • Stampin’ dimensionals (or other pop dots)
  • Perfect layers tool
  • Stamp-a-ma-jig

Assembling the card:

  1. Cut a piece of Tangerine Tango CS  8 1/2″ x 11″ in half on the long side so form a card 4 1/2″ x 5 1/2″
  2. Cut a piece of Whisper White CS 5 7/8″ x 4 1/8″ and emboss using the Finial Press EF
  3. Adhere to front of card as shown.
  4. Stamp the stem of the Field Flowers stamp in Pear Pizzazz on Whisper White CS.  Using your Stamp-a-ma-jig stamp your flowers on the stems as shown.  First stamp with Tangerine Tango and then again with Poppy Parade (see below).
  5. Adhere to a piece of Tangerine Tango and using your Perfect Layers tool, make a 1/16″  border all around.   Adhere to card as shown.
  6. Stamp “Birthday Wishes” in Tangerine Tango onto a scrap of Whisper White paper and cut to 2″ x 5/8″.  Layer again with Tangerine Tango CS with a border of 1/16″.
  7. Adhere to front of card using dimensionals (or pop dots).

This is a quick and easy card to make but oh so pretty.  Now more about the Field Flowers stamp set.

Field flowers stamp set

These are the stamps that come in the set. You have a more solid image that you would stamp with a light color (Tangerine Tango in this case) and then the outline stamp that you stamp in a darker coordinating color (Poppy Parade in this case).  This gives more dimension to the flowers.  You can also add the flower center as well but I did not do that with this card. You would stamp the same way (the more solid center in the lighter color and the outline stamp in the darker color.)

I hope you give this card a try.   Have a great day and until we meet again, happy stamping!   If you would like to follow my blog click on “Follow” in the bottom right corner of your computer screen (it is not part of the post but waaaay over to the lower right portion of your screen.)  For all of you who are already following my blog, I thank you for allowing me to hopefully inspire your creativity while making cards.  Have a great day!

Kathy

2 thoughts on “Birthday Wishes

Leave a Reply

