Boy’s 16th birthday card

Hi everyone,

I know it’s been awhile but I am back, at least for today.  June is a busy travel month for me.

Today’s card is one that I made for my grandson using the colors in the Dynamic Duo (Pear Pizzazz and Black).  I didn’t get my card submitted in time for the challenge but I wanted to post it here because there is something a bit unique about this card.  Have you ever looked at the design on a Kleenex box and thought, “that would look great on a card or scrapbook page”?  I have done that many times and today part of my card uses a part of a Kleenex box!

Jeff's 16 birthday card

I took my inspiration from this card by Deb Fearns

simply-stampin-challenge-week-67-deb-fearns

Supplies:

  • Black, Pear Pizzazz, and Whisper White card stock (CS)
  • Kleenex box
  • Brads
  • Black Ink
  • Pear Pizzazz marker
  • Adhesive, sticky tape
  • Stampin’ dimensionals

Making the card:

  1. Cut Black CS to form a 5 1/2″  x 4 1/4″ card. 
  2. Cut pattern from Kleenex box (mine measures 2 7/8″ x 4 1/4″
  3. Stamp images on Whisper White card stock and cut to 2 1/8″ x 4 3/4″
  4. Stamp an extra car in Versa Mark, emboss with black embossing powder, and cut out.

Assembling the card:

  1. Score your black CS at 5 1/2″ and fold card. 
  2. Adhere Kleenex box piece to the left side of the card as shown.  I used sticky tape here (the red double sided stuff) to ensure that this piece would stay on the card.
  3. Adhere White CS piece to front of card as shown using dimensionals.
  4. Color your car.  I used my Pear Pizzazz marker to color this on in.
  5. Add brads to bottom right corner of card as shown.

There you have it, a great card for a 16-year-old boy who is chomping at the bit to learn to drive.  (I’m sure he would be more excited if a real car was attached to this card!)

A reminder, if you want to follow my blog click on “Follow” in the lower right corner of your computer screen – not my blog post.  It is a black button and may be a little difficult to find, but it is there.

Well, that’s it for today. I’ll be gone a week so you may not hear from me for awhile.

Kathy

 

Leave a Reply

