The Paper Players Sketch Challenge #147

Hello everyone!! I know. . . it’s been awhile.  Time just keeps getting away from me.

Today I am sharing another Challenge that I am participating in, The Paper Players Sketch Challenge #147 and it looks like I am just getting my submission in under the wire!!

PP147_2

 

The sketch uses three different pieces of patterned paper and then a stamped image and sentiment.  I won’t lie, this was a hard challenge for me for some reason. (I think it’s because I like to CASE cards rather than think up my own!  lol).   Anyway, here is the card I am submitting (I actually made two cards but the one on top is my submission.)

100_8576                          100_8581

Supplies you will need:

  • Card stock for card base and sentiment area. 
  • three different patterned papers (this card is great for using scraps of paper).
  • ink
  • Flourish pattern (see below) and thread
  • sponge or dauber for inking edges of paper.
  • Stamp set for sentiment. (the ones I used come from the Just Believe stamp set)

Making and assembling the card:

  1. Form a 5 1/2″  x 4 1/4″ card base.
  2. Cut a piece of Very Vanilla card stock 5 1/4″  x 4″.   I felt this was easier to do this way.
  3. The sizes of the three pieces of patterned paper are:    top left = 1 7/8″  x 1 3/4″, bottom left = 3 3/8″  x 1 3/4″, bottom right = 2 1/4″ x 1 1/2″
  4. After cutting  ink the edges and set aside.

Now to the fun part -the  flourish.

I used a template that I am pretty sure I got at Hobby Lobby a few years back.  They look like this:

100_8588             100_8589

The close up is the one I used on this card.  I placed the template on the cardstock where I wanted my flourish to be and then using my paper piercer, pierced the design following the holes on the template.   I used  cross stitching floss (I have tons of the stuff leftover from my counted cross stitch days) and used a full strand (in other words, I didn’t take it apart like I would for cross stitching) and using a back stitch, I stitched the pattern.

After finishing the stitching, I glued the patterned papers to the card stock as shown and then glued it to the front of the card.

That’s it for today’s share.  I hope you enjoyed it.

Kathy

2 thoughts on “The Paper Players Sketch Challenge #147

  1. Both your projects are beautiful, Kathy, but I especially love the one with the stitching. How cool you have those templates. Thanks for joining us at The Paper Players this week!

Leave a Reply

